Spring Clean!!!

Well I know its not exactly spring but my excuse is that despite the fact that its now half way through what is theoretically called summer, I’ve been hanging back waiting for spring to make an appearance  before I started …    besides it must be spring somewhere on the planet …  right?

Anyway,  this spring cleaning spree consisted of me clearing out kitchen cupboards, largely because forays into the kitchen by various family members were followed by a plaintive voices asking “where are the ______?” (fill in the blanks).    So Mum decided (why is it always Mum?) that it was time to sort out said cupboards!

As I sit here I have to tell you I am sorely embarrassed …. actually embarrassment doesn’t come close … I feel quite ashamed really.   Now don’t get the wrong idea,  my cupboards probably aren’t any worse than a lot of other peoples.   But you know how it is,  you are at the supermarket and you think  ‘did I need salt/flour/ peanut butter …   whatever’  you can’t remember so you get another one … just in case and before you know it your cupboards are bulging.

I am ashamed to say that I had to dispose of 16 assorted jars and bottles which were nowhere near  empty  but which were in fact, well past their ‘use by’ dates.    I at least emptied the contents out and recycled the bottles and jars but I guess this just shows that I’m not very good at managing stock!

Food waste is a bit of a hot topic at the moment I suppose but the thing that really struck me today was how easy it is for us to waste food.  We are not going to go hungry because I threw out some old jars of assorted foods.    But I started to wonder what the families of my sponsored kids would think if they went through the contents of my rubbish bin,  how embarrassing would that be!

The real problem though is not the ‘use by dates’ its the fact that I obviously buy too much food, so much that we can’t use it up before it goes off.    Most of the time I think I’m reasonably organised,   I try to plan our meals for the week ahead and make out my shopping list accordingly but still I throw food away and judging from the amount of coverage the topic gets I’m not alone.

There are lots of reasons for this, our shopping habits that encourage us to load our trolleys til we can hardly push them, busy schedules and a super abundance of varied and delicious food on special offer that entices us to buy more than we need.

My challenge is to find a way to do things differently, to resist the advertising and hype about the newest greatest product and to make different choices …… I need to try to change and I think its going to be an uphill struggle but as my Dad used to say anything worth doing is never easy!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lorna
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 08:28:52

    This is food for thought Linda. I think our cupbords are also being affected by the buy one get one free mentality and every good housewife loves a bargin.

    Reply

    • A different way of seeing....
      Jul 22, 2012 @ 18:43:41

      Thank you for taking the time to read my ramblings Lorna ….. It’s just too easy to load up the shopping trolley with goodies isn’t it! But there has to be a balance between being like ‘old mother hubbard’ and having your cupboards so full you can’t get the door shut …. my challenge is to find that balance!

      Reply

  2. theministersmrs
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 08:52:09

    While we went down to Hexham for a break last week, Cliff’s parents looked after the house and the hens, and I went a little mad with the “spring ” cleaning too before their arrival. Just how many bags of flour with a couple of tablespoonfuls in, did I need! We always get “presents” from pastoral visits, some jam’s etc. are a little dubious at times so they get put in the back of the cupboard for sales, I’m ashamed to say.
    I have started making menus so that I shop more economically, how long it will last I can’t say.

    Reply

    • A different way of seeing....
      Jul 21, 2012 @ 22:40:51

      I started planning menu’s about a year ago and although it does fall by the wayside sometimes, I have been able to get it going again and I do find it really helps. The other thing I find is really useful is shopping online for a few reasons …
      1) I can check the cupboards as I’m shopping
      2) I also find I’m less likely to buy the offers cos they’re not so ‘in your face’. and I’m not so likely to pick up stuff that’s not on my list
      3) It saves time and I can be getting on with housework while I’m waiting for the delivery (and the driver brings it into the kitchen!)
      But again I get out of the habit and have to consciously think about it again. I started online shopping again this week for the first time in a while, I hope I can keep it up.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Gap year with granny

Fasten your seat belts, bring your cocoa and enjoy the ride

fabric and fairy dust

for something a wee bit special

Living by faith not by sight

lpgandcadence.wordpress.com/

The continuing adventures along...

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Living by faith not by sight

Hunter's Design Studio

Cool patterns + sassy stuff! And the home of We Are $ew Worth It!

The Complete Guide to Imperfect Homemaking

Living by faith not by sight

Organizing Home Life

Just another WordPress.com site

Red Brolly

Living by faith not by sight

From My Heart

Just another WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Living by faith not by sight

The Daily Golden

your daily dose of Golden Retriever news, info, and cuteness!

Love for the Least of These

Living by faith not by sight

An Ounce of Compassion

...goes a long, long way...

The Fontenot Four

Living by faith not by sight

From England With Love

Living by faith not by sight

Grace. Mercy. Peace

Living by faith not by sight

Three Little Larks

Living by faith not by sight

Living by faith not by sight

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

ONE WOMAN'S JOURNEY OF FAITH

Living by faith not by sight

Naivaze

Letters from Kids Around the World

Mother Goose Smiles

Little stories about people I know and places I go

Living by faith not by sight

A Journey to a Masterpiece

Learning to live by God's Design

There's always Hope

Living by faith not by sight

His Heart of Compassion

Living by faith not by sight

Never Too Young

Living by faith not by sight

Gravity

Take Action for Jesus

Starry's Sky

Living by faith not by sight

Living by faith not by sight

Tales of Child Sponsorship

Living by faith not by sight

Proof of His Love

Living by faith not by sight

Our Compassion Adventure

Living by faith not by sight

Looking after the little ones.

Just another WordPress.com site

