Autumn’s coming…

Today is the 1st September, and my thoughts are turning to Autumn here in Scotland.  The days are getting cooler and the nights longer.  We haven’t had much of a summer this year to be honest but there is a distinct difference in the temperature now.  It was quite pleasant for a couple of hours this afternoon though and I watched these swallows chattering as they sat on the wires, in a couple of weeks they will be gone on their way to South Africa for their winter migration.

                          

I wondered if they were discussing the long journey ahead or if they knew what potential trials awaited them, starvation, exhaustion and storms are just a few of the things that could cost these little birds their lives but they will still make the journey regardless, not knowing what lies ahead or if they will survive.

It made me think of my own journey,  walking with Jesus day by day, I don’t always know where He is leading me, sometimes it feels scary but I go on regardless because I know He has promised to walk with me  “Even when the way goes through Death Valley, I’m not afraid when you walk at my side.” Psalm 23 v 4,  The Message.   The Swallows head south for the winter because somewhere deep inside they are ‘wired’ to behave that way,  but me…. I have a choice, I can follow Jesus or not… and today I choose to follow Him!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kathleencaron
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 02:55:52

    Beautiful post, I will never look at migrating birds the same way again! blessings, Kathleen

    Reply

  2. fiddlejill
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 03:30:25

    Great blog! I have “master list” of sorts of those who blog about Compassion regularly over at Compassion Family. I’ll add yours if you don’t mind. I look forward to reading more of what you have to say!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Gap year with granny

Fasten your seat belts, bring your cocoa and enjoy the ride

fabric and fairy dust

for something a wee bit special

Living by faith not by sight

lpgandcadence.wordpress.com/

The continuing adventures along...

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Living by faith not by sight

Hunter's Design Studio

Cool patterns + sassy stuff! And the home of We Are $ew Worth It!

The Complete Guide to Imperfect Homemaking

Living by faith not by sight

Organizing Home Life

Just another WordPress.com site

Red Brolly

Living by faith not by sight

From My Heart

Just another WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Living by faith not by sight

The Daily Golden

your daily dose of Golden Retriever news, info, and cuteness!

Love for the Least of These

Living by faith not by sight

An Ounce of Compassion

...goes a long, long way...

The Fontenot Four

Living by faith not by sight

From England With Love

Living by faith not by sight

Grace. Mercy. Peace

Living by faith not by sight

Three Little Larks

Living by faith not by sight

Living by faith not by sight

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

ONE WOMAN'S JOURNEY OF FAITH

Living by faith not by sight

Naivaze

Letters from Kids Around the World

Mother Goose Smiles

Little stories about people I know and places I go

Living by faith not by sight

A Journey to a Masterpiece

Learning to live by God's Design

There's always Hope

Living by faith not by sight

His Heart of Compassion

Living by faith not by sight

Never Too Young

Living by faith not by sight

Gravity

Take Action for Jesus

Starry's Sky

Living by faith not by sight

Living by faith not by sight

Tales of Child Sponsorship

Living by faith not by sight

Proof of His Love

Living by faith not by sight

Our Compassion Adventure

Living by faith not by sight

Looking after the little ones.

Just another WordPress.com site

