The wrong side of ‘cuddly’ …..

I have decided that September is going to be ‘diet’ month …  well actually ‘starting the diet again’ month might be much more accurate.  If I’m being honest I have struggled with being on the wrong side of  ‘cuddly’ for longer than I care to admit.    Every so often I manage to get my head ‘in the zone’,  and if you have ever struggled to lose weight you will know exactly what I mean, you have to be in the right frame of mind.   It’s not that I don’t know what I need to do …. it’s basic, eat less, excercise more, but somehow its not  that simple!

There are lots of factors that influence what I put in my mouth, sometimes I eat because I’m anxious or worried,  that’s called comfort eating,  at other times I eat because I am happy or something good has happened, that’s called a celebration!   I can’t win really, but at least I have the power to decide whether to eat or not.

This got me thinking ….  I sponsor some children through Compassion and often when I think of how much we have and how much we waste, I feel embarrassed.   Especially when I consider that the little ones we sponsor wouldn’t get a decent meal if they weren’t attending the Compassion centre.

                   

Angelica and Agossou need sponsors, click photo for info..                         

How much money could I save if I cut all the little ‘extras’ out of my diet, and those little extras often punch well above their weight in calorie value!   Hmmm …  I think I may have stumbled upon the perfect solution  to my weight  problem.   Not only would this help me lose weight, but I could use the money I save to sponsor another child living in poverty so that they could  gain weight ….  now that seems more balanced!

So ……. I know I’m not the only one who is carrying an extra pound or two.   Maybe you would like to take up the challenge of   lb’s for £’s, its very simple every time you manage to stop yourself buying chocolate, crisps, a take-away etc  (insert your particular vice) put the money you save into a jar and see how much you can save in a month.  You only need £21 or $38 a month and you could sponsor a child.

Still needing an incentive? …….  there are hundreds of children waiting for sponsors today,  I can introduce you to them personally just click  here to meet them.    You have the potential to change two lives  today yours and  _______  (all you have to do is fill in the blank!)

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 14:52:27

    Wonderful post! I don’t think anyone really realizes how much they waste until they actually start looking…and the diet thing…that is me! 🙂 Again! A great book to check out is 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess by Jen Hatmaker. I don’t know that I could do it at this moment…with all my different uniform items and civilian clothes and pt clothes but the book is an interesting concept.

    Reply

  2. T
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 22:39:29

    I sponsor 2 children through compassion myself. It was one of the best decisions in my life I ever made. They are huge blessings!. I loved your post too! God bless you

    Reply

  3. Stacey
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 00:34:10

    Great post. I recommend Made to crave. I have lost two pant sizes since I took the Bible study. It really goes into how to make your weight loss into a walk with Jesus.

    Reply

  4. neritia
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 05:49:17

    WOW!!

    What an awesome way of saving and then using the money for sponsoring.

    Here in South Africa we eat – too much. There’s always extra’s of everything – and I’m just realizing now that I need to cut back too. So thankful for this reminder…!

    Loosing weight so that another can gain some…love it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Gap year with granny

Fasten your seat belts, bring your cocoa and enjoy the ride

fabric and fairy dust

for something a wee bit special

Living by faith not by sight

lpgandcadence.wordpress.com/

The continuing adventures along...

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Living by faith not by sight

Hunter's Design Studio

Cool patterns + sassy stuff! And the home of We Are $ew Worth It!

The Complete Guide to Imperfect Homemaking

Living by faith not by sight

Organizing Home Life

Just another WordPress.com site

Red Brolly

Living by faith not by sight

From My Heart

Just another WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Living by faith not by sight

The Daily Golden

your daily dose of Golden Retriever news, info, and cuteness!

Love for the Least of These

Living by faith not by sight

An Ounce of Compassion

...goes a long, long way...

The Fontenot Four

Living by faith not by sight

From England With Love

Living by faith not by sight

Grace. Mercy. Peace

Living by faith not by sight

Three Little Larks

Living by faith not by sight

Living by faith not by sight

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

ONE WOMAN'S JOURNEY OF FAITH

Living by faith not by sight

Naivaze

Letters from Kids Around the World

Mother Goose Smiles

Little stories about people I know and places I go

Living by faith not by sight

A Journey to a Masterpiece

Learning to live by God's Design

There's always Hope

Living by faith not by sight

His Heart of Compassion

Living by faith not by sight

Never Too Young

Living by faith not by sight

Gravity

Take Action for Jesus

Starry's Sky

Living by faith not by sight

Living by faith not by sight

Tales of Child Sponsorship

Living by faith not by sight

Proof of His Love

Living by faith not by sight

Our Compassion Adventure

Living by faith not by sight

Looking after the little ones.

Just another WordPress.com site

