422 Days is a very long time …..

Its the last week of  September and Autumn has definitely arrived.    It’s also the  last week of Compassion’s  Blog month where those of us who blog for Compassion have been set 4 different  assignments to encourage us to keep going.    I find myself looking at my final assignment, the instructions read;

“For this assignment, we want you to blog as if you are a sponsored child.   God told us to become like little children. Remember?   This assignment is about aligning with the heart of children in poverty.”  …… so here goes……

“Hello dear sponsor, I am so happy to write to you and tell you about myself and my family.    I have been waiting a very long time for a sponsor, 422 days to be exact….. that is  1year, 1 month, 3 weeks and 5 days.    I have been sad many times when I have come to the centre and the Pastor has told me “I am sorry Uwayisenga but I do not have good news for you yet”    He would say to me   “don’t worry, I know that God has someone very special to be your sponsor, it will happen one day”   

At the beginning it was ok, some other children who had been registered before me got sponsors and I didn’t mind, but as the weeks became months and children who had been registered after me began to get sponsors I  wondered what was wrong with me , why no-one would choose me and even the Pastor’s kind words could not lift my spirit.  I prayed to God every day  to find me that one special sponsor but still no-one came.  I felt very sad.

Rwanda is a beautiful country but our life is very difficult here.   The genocide in 1994 was very bad and I have heard stories of what happened then,  it is very hard to understand why such a thing could happen.    There are also many, many people who are sick with AIDS in Rwanda and many families have lost loved ones because of it.  

Now I live with my grandfather and aunt, they try to look after me  but I miss my parents very much.   They both get work farming whenever they can but my grandfather is getting old and cannot do as much as he once could and my aunt has her own family to care for as well.   I help as much as I can by fetching water and gathering firewood but most of the time we don’t have enough to eat, most nights we go to bed with hunger still growling in our bellies.   

I knew if  Compassion could just find me a sponsor my life would be so different, I would receive  good meals, and clothes, and medicine when I get sick, I would be able to go to school and also learn more about Jesus.    Life would be so much easier for my grandfather and aunt as they would not have to feed me and they would also get help from the centre …… if only I had a sponsor.

And then today I came to the centre and  my Pastor he was so happy, he danced me around the room laughing and singing.  He said  ” At last Uwayisenga, at last…… God has finally found a really special sponsor for you,  their name is  __________ “

Only this is still just my dream, I don’t have a sponsor yet, unless maybe …… well I don’t like to ask……  but…… 422 days is a very long time…… it would make me so happy if today was the day if it did not become 423 days ……  could you?   would you?  

The above is my interpretation and conjecture about Uwayisenga based on the information in his profile.    The facts are true, he does need a sponsor and he has been waiting 422 days.   He lives  in grinding poverty and the hopelessness that must surround him and his family are compounded by the fact that there has so far been no-one willing to sponsor this young boy.    

Are you the one who could give him a chance, could you rescue him and speak hope and love into his life?     Uwayisenga is a real child in real need, his details are on the Compassion website click here or on his name to find out how you can help him ……

 

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terese Matthews
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 19:29:12

    Beautiful blog! I hope and pray that this special little boy now has a sponsor. If I were not already over my limit, your words would definitely move me to click on that “Sponsor me” button. Your heart for the children really shines through.

    Reply

    • A different way of seeing....
      Sep 26, 2012 @ 19:36:50

      Thank you for taking the time to read my blog Terese and for your kind comments. I am really praying that this little lad will find a sponsor very soon, can you imagine how he must feel having had to wait so long? It’s heartbreaking, like you if I could manage another one he would be top of my list.

      Reply

  2. Jill Foley
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 19:47:26

    Great post – I wrote my post from the perspective of a waiting child, too. It breaks my heart how many children have been waiting for more than a year for a sponsor – that’s a lifetime to a child!

    Reply

  3. Sharon Williams
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 03:08:56

    Fabulous post! Praying that Uwayisenga will get a loving, letter-writing sponsor!

    Reply

  4. A different way of seeing....
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 18:42:35

    Thanks for taking the time to check out my blog Sharon, I have to say I am feeling very hopeful that he has since I just clicked on the link to his profile and its not there now! Praying that this means he has a sponsor now!!

    Reply

  5. Teena
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 05:08:19

    just found your blog from OC. Wonderful post. So thankful for all these bloggers that we all can connect …. helping to rescue children from poverty in Jesus name!

    grace~
    Teena

    Reply

    • A different way of seeing....
      Sep 28, 2012 @ 17:47:15

      Hi Teena, so glad you like my blog, I love the fact that I can link up with other bloggers, I haven’t been doing this for long so its a great encouragement to me when others like my blog. I just stopped by yours and its great, I’ve followed it and will add yours to my blogroll.

      Reply

  6. T
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 21:51:53

    I loved your post, This past weeks assignment was very hard to write for me since I have never actually walked in the shoes of poverty. So thankful that a lot more children have sponsors now Just wish they all did. God Bless!

    Reply

    • A different way of seeing....
      Sep 28, 2012 @ 22:46:32

      It’s been great to see so many kids get sponsors this month, but there are still so many waiting and that makes me sad. However, I know we are all trying to do as much as we can. Thanks for reading my blog and taking the time to comment.

      Reply

  7. anounceofcompassion
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 04:53:18

    Amazing Post! It looks like Uwayisenga might have a sponsor! I clicked on his link and it lead me to a different page! Praise God! I am so happy that his wait is over.
    -Emily

    Reply

    • A different way of seeing....
      Oct 01, 2012 @ 09:27:17

      Thank you Emily, I really appreciate you taking time to read and comment on my blog, like you I love to receive comments it is so encouraging to know that people enjoy and appreciate what you are writing. I am praying that Uwayisenga now has a sponsor and that the little girl, Wendy, that you featured also finds one very soon.

      Reply

  8. Wendy
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 20:01:36

    Beautiful, Linda! I hope Uwayisenga’s dreams came true and his waiting is over!

    Reply

  9. Life Drawn Out
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 21:01:39

    Awesome story! I really hope Uwayisenga has been sponsored; he is really cute! Awesome blog too.

    Reply

  10. compassioncalling
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 08:43:52

    This post was hard for us to write as well. Andy and I both worked on it for quite a while, and it was difficult to imagine ourselves as a child living in poverty. It was interesting, because Andy commented that, “Even though we have problems here in our country, even if we were homeless and had nothing, our lives and circumstances would still seem better than the poverty in which these children live.” Thank you for sharing this beautiful post, and I do pray that the precious little boy you featured here was indeed sponsored! We featured a few children in our last blog assignment for September’s blog month, and it has been exciting every time we’ve gone to their profile links and found them “no longer available for sponsorship” one by one! We have only one child left that we featured on that post who is still waiting for her special sponsor to love her!

    Reply

  11. A different way of seeing....
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 15:41:18

    I agree that in our countries those who are poor are so much better off than the poverty these children have to live in. I am so hopeful that Uwayisenga found a sponsor as the result of this blog post, that would be amazing! And I pray too that the little girl you featured will also find a loving sponsor very soon. Blogging works for Compassion, its been great to be part of blog month for the very first time. Thank you for your encouragment. God bless you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Gap year with granny

Fasten your seat belts, bring your cocoa and enjoy the ride

fabric and fairy dust

for something a wee bit special

Living by faith not by sight

lpgandcadence.wordpress.com/

The continuing adventures along...

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Living by faith not by sight

Hunter's Design Studio

Cool patterns + sassy stuff! And the home of We Are $ew Worth It!

The Complete Guide to Imperfect Homemaking

Living by faith not by sight

Organizing Home Life

Just another WordPress.com site

Red Brolly

Living by faith not by sight

From My Heart

Just another WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Living by faith not by sight

The Daily Golden

your daily dose of Golden Retriever news, info, and cuteness!

Love for the Least of These

Living by faith not by sight

An Ounce of Compassion

...goes a long, long way...

The Fontenot Four

Living by faith not by sight

From England With Love

Living by faith not by sight

Grace. Mercy. Peace

Living by faith not by sight

Three Little Larks

Living by faith not by sight

Living by faith not by sight

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

ONE WOMAN'S JOURNEY OF FAITH

Living by faith not by sight

Naivaze

Letters from Kids Around the World

Mother Goose Smiles

Little stories about people I know and places I go

Living by faith not by sight

A Journey to a Masterpiece

Learning to live by God's Design

There's always Hope

Living by faith not by sight

His Heart of Compassion

Living by faith not by sight

Never Too Young

Living by faith not by sight

Gravity

Take Action for Jesus

Starry's Sky

Living by faith not by sight

Living by faith not by sight

Tales of Child Sponsorship

Living by faith not by sight

Proof of His Love

Living by faith not by sight

Our Compassion Adventure

Living by faith not by sight

Looking after the little ones.

Just another WordPress.com site

