Life at the madhouse!!

Sometimes things don’t turn out the way you expect…..

Take our pets for example…. there is Bonnie the Golden Retriever who doesn’t retrieve,  Emma the Cocker Spaniel who likes to tap dance and our ginger cat called Garfield (what else!!) who doesn’t eat lasagne…… more on this later!

Then there are those brilliant ideas that once you try to put them into action don’t seem so brilliant after all.   It all started a few weeks ago when I noticed that our pets beds were looking decidedly shabby,  and being the mad crafter that I am I thought I should make new covers, only the stuffing was looking a bit flat and worn too and since it wasn’t washable maybe that needed changed too.

So, basically I set myself the task of making new beds.    No problem to a multi-tasking supermum like me!!   One trip to the craft store later  I am on my way home with a bag of polystyrene beads ( I figured polystyrene was more hygienic).  Pleased with myself for deciding on the better priced LARGE bag ( an absolute bargain!)   and only slightly anxious that I can barely see out of the back window of the car,  I drive home  thinking that I at least have enough to make 3 new pet beds with a bit left over for other craft projects.

After wrestling the bag out of the car and into the house  I cut out some calico to make the inner liners and sew them up remembering to leave a gap to put the filling in ……  have you ever tried filling anything with polystyrene beads?

The plastic tumbler was no use,  I should have realised  it would cause static….. a glass jug will be much better ….  or maybe not!

Determined to finish what I had started (and justify to dear husband why I had bought such a large bag of pb’s)  I filled bed No 1 stitched it closed and threw it on the floor …… hmmmm needs less filling  or the dog is going to be sitting on top of a mountain ….. I unpick stitching and empty some out, spilling large quantities on the floor, empty more out….  and more….. it seems you only really need to half fill it with pb’s so they can move around.     Much later….. bed No 2 completed, covers and all, and there is barely a dent in the bag of pb’s   😦

Never mind, the dogs are going to love their new beds ……. we are entering the realm of mythology now ….. both me and my conservatory look as if we have seen the wrong side of a snow storm and are Bonnie and Emma grateful?  Not a chance!   From the looks on their faces the dialogue goes like this “actually we liked our old beds best …… these are very noisy,  they smell funny and when you stand on them the earth moves …. we are not impressed!!”

This comes from a Golden Retriever who arrived in our home over 6 years ago as very cute 8 week old puppy.

The only problem was that she came with attitude!   And come to think of it she’s been ‘not impressed’ with beds before!

When you ask Bonnie to do something she gives you the hands on hips look that  says something along the lines of “make me”!    Dogs love to chase after balls and sticks right?    Wrong!!  Bonnie (Golden Non-Retriever) will go and get a ball once for you but if you are stupid enough to throw it again …  you get the “you threw it , you get it”  look.    Bonnie also ‘talks’ and has no problem letting you know when she is not happy with the service provided in the establishment.

Emma on the other hand is very much a lady, probably due to the fact that she was my Mum’s dog and we ‘inherited’ her when Mum passed away last year.  Emma’s preferred method of communication is akin to morse code where she taps out messages on the wooden floors.   She is small and pretty quiet except when we pass our neighbour when he is out walking his five (yes 5!!)Rottweilers  then she decides that attack is the best method of defence and barks at them while making threatening lunges towards them, not the sharpest tack in the box!!

Garfield,  is of the opinion that pet beds are beneath him

and that anywhere has the  potential to be a bed……

So life at the madhouse continues….. Emma has decided she prefers anything to the hard floor, Bonnie continues to eye her bed with disgust,  and I still have a very large bag of polystyrene beads ….

Suggestions and patterns gratefully appreciated!!!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol Walford
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 09:52:55

    Love this Linda and so true. I have a dog that scorns beds altogether and I got the look ‘you’ve got to be kidding’ when I tried to persuade him it was a good idea. Who is supposed to be in charge of who?

    Carolx

    Reply

  2. Carrie R
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 10:02:19

    Brilliant Linda, I love this – I’m glad it’s not just me that has “great ideas”!

    And I bet you’ll still be finding polystyrene beads in the conservatory at Christmas!

    Reply

  3. Tracey Evans
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 13:47:43

    I applaud you for attempting to do this! Those beads get everywhere. I would keep some of the beads for refills of the beds- they do squash down a lot with use (from my experience with my daughters bean bag anyway)
    I also have a ginger cat (called Mellow ) who loves to sleep in odd places and shapes too. I thought mine was the only cat to sleep in that weird position (picture 2)- perhaps its a ginger thing……. 🙂

    Reply

  4. theministersmrs
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 16:05:56

    I thought what a good idea, until I saw the poly balls! I think our three may have to keep using their beds lined with carpet offcuts!

    Reply

  5. Naomi
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 20:50:06

    You had me absolutely rolling with this post! I’ve used those poly balls before and was vacuuming them up for days!

    Reply

  6. compassioncalling
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 08:31:01

    Hahahaha! I absolutely love this post! 🙂 We have two male cats, and I had both cats and dogs growing up… So, I have many hilarious stories and memories of our 4-legged family members! 🙂 Hmmmm… Animals sure have their personality now don’t they? 🙂 Also, thank you for following our blog! We appreciate it very much! 🙂

    Reply

  7. A different way of seeing....
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 15:30:58

    They are really funny, we get a lot of enjoyment with them even if they drive us mad sometimes too! I really enjoy your blog too, lots of practical ideas for sponsors, great stuff! Thank you for commenting, its always encouraging to hear that others enjoy what you write. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Gap year with granny

Fasten your seat belts, bring your cocoa and enjoy the ride

fabric and fairy dust

for something a wee bit special

Living by faith not by sight

lpgandcadence.wordpress.com/

The continuing adventures along...

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Living by faith not by sight

Hunter's Design Studio

Cool patterns + sassy stuff! And the home of We Are $ew Worth It!

The Complete Guide to Imperfect Homemaking

Living by faith not by sight

Organizing Home Life

Just another WordPress.com site

Red Brolly

Living by faith not by sight

From My Heart

Just another WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Living by faith not by sight

The Daily Golden

your daily dose of Golden Retriever news, info, and cuteness!

Love for the Least of These

Living by faith not by sight

An Ounce of Compassion

...goes a long, long way...

The Fontenot Four

Living by faith not by sight

From England With Love

Living by faith not by sight

Grace. Mercy. Peace

Living by faith not by sight

Three Little Larks

Living by faith not by sight

Living by faith not by sight

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

ONE WOMAN'S JOURNEY OF FAITH

Living by faith not by sight

Naivaze

Letters from Kids Around the World

Mother Goose Smiles

Little stories about people I know and places I go

Living by faith not by sight

A Journey to a Masterpiece

Learning to live by God's Design

There's always Hope

Living by faith not by sight

His Heart of Compassion

Living by faith not by sight

Never Too Young

Living by faith not by sight

Gravity

Take Action for Jesus

Starry's Sky

Living by faith not by sight

Living by faith not by sight

Tales of Child Sponsorship

Living by faith not by sight

Proof of His Love

Living by faith not by sight

Our Compassion Adventure

Living by faith not by sight

Looking after the little ones.

Just another WordPress.com site

