Momma said there’d be days like this……

This has not been a good week.   Sometimes no matter how hard you try you just can’t get on top of things, some days you just feel like you are buried at the bottom of the pile.  That said, there have been good things happen this week too, things that have lifted my spirit and encouraged me.  But this week I’ve lived under a cloud of  having to deal with stuff that is outside my comfort zone, make decisions about BIG stuff that I feel ill qualified to do, but I’ve had to do it anyway and pray that it will be ok.    It  has made me feel tired and anxious.

You see my Mum passed away a little over a year ago and I miss her, nothing really prepares you for losing a parent, you think they are immortal, but sadly they are not.   And there is still ‘stuff’ to sort out, legal stuff, house stuff, the sort of stuff that needs ‘someone who really knows what they are doing’ kind of  stuff!!

Mum was the last of that generation of parents, aunts and uncles so now my generation of brothers, sisters, cousins are the ‘older generation’,   the elders in the family.     How did that happen?  I’m not ready to take on the role of one of the older responsible ones, not yet, it’s too soon, I need more time…. but time marches on relentless, it makes you take stock.

I started to write this post last night and when I woke  this morning the first light of dawn was stretching its pink fingers across the sky.   I am blessed because our bedroom is in the attic with east facing windows and I can lie in my bed and watch the sun rise.    As I watched the clouds gradually change from grey to  pink, orange,  purple, gold …..  and become alive, light with colour and beauty it took my breath away.    Suddenly in the silence I was aware of hearing God speak, not an audible voice, but that still small inner voice that you just know is His.

As I sat, awestruck at the beauty of the sunrise He spoke to me of the clouds.    Without the clouds there would be no beautiful sunrise, it is the clouds that reflect the sun’s light, create the stunning colour and patterns that amaze us.    I pondered over this thought…… last night I was worn down by the ‘cloud’  hanging over me.  Today I know this cloud will pass but maybe, just maybe I can use it to reflect the Son’s light….

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Cole
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 00:04:04

    So true! Love a beautiful sunrise and it always reminds me that God is always there!

    Reply

  2. Lyn Coyle
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 01:54:42

    His mercies are new every morning too, check out Psalm 19, how the day and night ‘announce there arrival without words’ and how God has everything worked out to the nth degree! Blessings to you Linda xx

    Reply

  3. theministersmrs
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 10:16:32

    Thinking of you Linda. I had some bad news yesterday about a close friend, and I couldn’t concentrate on anything else. Sometimes life seems so unfair, but like you say, clouds can make the whole situation overcast , but when you look back over life, there have been many clouds and we survived their passing and the sun came out. God never makes mistakes, but it can be a bit gloomy while he works things out for us. ….Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change and though the mountains be shaken into the midst of the seas,

    Reply

    • A different way of seeing....
      Oct 12, 2012 @ 19:20:50

      Sorry you’ve had bad news Jenny, I hope and pray you know God’s presence when you are ‘under this cloud’. We know that He has promised never to leave us or forsake us and it is good to look back and remember His faithfulness to us in the past. Will be keeping you in my thoughts and prayers, God bless.

      Reply

  4. T
    Oct 13, 2012 @ 04:08:50

    beautiful! Thank you for sharing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Gap year with granny

Fasten your seat belts, bring your cocoa and enjoy the ride

fabric and fairy dust

for something a wee bit special

Living by faith not by sight

lpgandcadence.wordpress.com/

The continuing adventures along...

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Living by faith not by sight

Hunter's Design Studio

Cool patterns + sassy stuff! And the home of We Are $ew Worth It!

The Complete Guide to Imperfect Homemaking

Living by faith not by sight

Organizing Home Life

Just another WordPress.com site

Red Brolly

Living by faith not by sight

From My Heart

Just another WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Living by faith not by sight

The Daily Golden

your daily dose of Golden Retriever news, info, and cuteness!

Love for the Least of These

Living by faith not by sight

An Ounce of Compassion

...goes a long, long way...

The Fontenot Four

Living by faith not by sight

From England With Love

Living by faith not by sight

Grace. Mercy. Peace

Living by faith not by sight

Three Little Larks

Living by faith not by sight

Living by faith not by sight

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

ONE WOMAN'S JOURNEY OF FAITH

Living by faith not by sight

Naivaze

Letters from Kids Around the World

Mother Goose Smiles

Little stories about people I know and places I go

Living by faith not by sight

A Journey to a Masterpiece

Learning to live by God's Design

There's always Hope

Living by faith not by sight

His Heart of Compassion

Living by faith not by sight

Never Too Young

Living by faith not by sight

Gravity

Take Action for Jesus

Starry's Sky

Living by faith not by sight

Living by faith not by sight

Tales of Child Sponsorship

Living by faith not by sight

Proof of His Love

Living by faith not by sight

Our Compassion Adventure

Living by faith not by sight

Looking after the little ones.

Just another WordPress.com site

