Procrastination….

We’ve been doing a series of studies in James over the past few weeks,  I would say I have enjoyed it but actually I’m not sure if enjoy is the right word!  I’ve been challenged,  felt a bit uncomfortable  and occasionally downright awkward…. but I’m not too worried because as our Pastor pointed out, there’s something in James to offend everyone!    But it’s good to be made to think, to be taken out of our comfort zone every once in a while.

One of the things that has stuck in my mind is that life is short!  Maybe that’s because I’m getting older and had a ‘significant’ birthday this year or maybe its that I still feel there are so many things I would like to achieve and I’m not sure how I’m going to fit them all in.   I remember reading a proverb somewhere ….. ‘Don’t leave until tomorrow what you can do today!’  I also know the ‘counter version’ of that proverb …… ‘Never put off until tomorrow what you can possibly do the day after!!’

The second of these has always seemed most appealing to me,  but as I rack up the years I am beginning to wonder if the first one has more sense to it.     I could appreciate the message of it as I stumbled downstairs this morning, bleary eyed in search of coffee only to be met by last nights dishes still sitting in the sink waiting to be washed.   Not a pleasant task to face first thing in the morning but I tackled it as I waited for the coffee machine to bubble  and bloop into action.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There is something to be said for tackling jobs at the right time,  if I’d washed the dishes last night I wouldn’t have been faced with a pot whose contents seemed to have turned into super-glue overnight and required about 5 minutes of scrubbing instead  of a quick 30 second  wash when it was newly empty.

However, menial tasks give you time to think, and I had a  good few minutes to think things over in the early morning light.  I wondered how many other aspects of our lives are the same?    When we don’t deal with a fall out or an argument right away, does the hurt and upset become ‘crusted on’ bitterness that is much harder to shift?    When we say something hurtful in haste or in the heat of the moment it is much easier dealt with quickly but so often we try to gloss over it and pretend it hasn’t happened, its so much harder to revisit it later and scrape off the dried in mess we’ve left.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Grandfather apparently liked to quote well known phrases and proverbs,  one of his favourites was “Procrastination is the thief of time”   I don’t think I really understood it before but I can see the sense of it now.    I don’t know how many years God has appointed for me on this earth, none of us do, but my thought for today is to use the time we do have wisely and not waste it…… better get off this computer then and get the dishes done!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftyalice aka craftyaem
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 08:38:41

    Good post, Linda. Work while it is still day.

    Reply

  2. theministersmrs
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 10:33:07

    This made me smile. I read it after I rushed around like a dervish cleaning the Manse before the visitors arrive, I knew I should have done some of it yesterday. As for life being short, it took a few hospital admissions before I realised I could make better use of my time, I need to get my priorities worked out!

    Reply

    • A different way of seeing....
      Nov 01, 2012 @ 10:45:44

      Been there, done that, way too many times! I always think that jobs will take less time than they do and end up in dervish mode like you. Hope you will be returned to full health very soon, in the meantime slow down on the dervish activity!!

      Reply

  3. Michelle R.
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 13:51:56

    Oh what a perfect message for me to read right now at this exact moment in time!!! I, too, have morning dishes….. I still need to do mine though. But I also tend to start projects and have things in piles left half undone. Some projects are really important… like organizing and cataloging family photos. The quilt I started… Scanning documents to save in the computer…. If I were to die, what a mess my family would be left with!!!

    I’m going to get off the computer and get something done! Thanks for the rah rah encouragement!! ((((HUGS))))

    Reply

    • A different way of seeing....
      Nov 01, 2012 @ 20:50:56

      Sounds just like me Michelle, organizing photos and as for quilting projects…I have a bunch of those to finish!! I had to clear out my Mum’s house when she passed away last year and my goodness what a task that was, it made me realise that a lot of the stuff I hang on to and think is important, just isn’t. Sorting out my excess ‘stuff’ is definitely on my ‘to do’ list!

      Thanks for stopping by my blog and taking time to comment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Gap year with granny

Fasten your seat belts, bring your cocoa and enjoy the ride

fabric and fairy dust

for something a wee bit special

Living by faith not by sight

lpgandcadence.wordpress.com/

The continuing adventures along...

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Living by faith not by sight

Hunter's Design Studio

Cool patterns + sassy stuff! And the home of We Are $ew Worth It!

The Complete Guide to Imperfect Homemaking

Living by faith not by sight

Organizing Home Life

Just another WordPress.com site

Red Brolly

Living by faith not by sight

From My Heart

Just another WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Living by faith not by sight

The Daily Golden

your daily dose of Golden Retriever news, info, and cuteness!

Love for the Least of These

Living by faith not by sight

An Ounce of Compassion

...goes a long, long way...

The Fontenot Four

Living by faith not by sight

From England With Love

Living by faith not by sight

Grace. Mercy. Peace

Living by faith not by sight

Three Little Larks

Living by faith not by sight

Living by faith not by sight

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

ONE WOMAN'S JOURNEY OF FAITH

Living by faith not by sight

Naivaze

Letters from Kids Around the World

Mother Goose Smiles

Little stories about people I know and places I go

Living by faith not by sight

A Journey to a Masterpiece

Learning to live by God's Design

There's always Hope

Living by faith not by sight

His Heart of Compassion

Living by faith not by sight

Never Too Young

Living by faith not by sight

Gravity

Take Action for Jesus

Starry's Sky

Living by faith not by sight

Living by faith not by sight

Tales of Child Sponsorship

Living by faith not by sight

Proof of His Love

Living by faith not by sight

Our Compassion Adventure

Living by faith not by sight

Looking after the little ones.

Just another WordPress.com site

